Is lactic acid vegan?
Having just pounded half a jar of garlic-stuffed olives (so addicting… vampires beware), I noticed that they contained lactic acid.
Now, ‘lactic’ sounds awfully similar to ‘lactose,’ which is ‘a disaccharide sugar that is found most notably in milk’ (thanks, Wikipedia!). Plus, isn’t lactic acid build-up the explanation behind sore muscles– e.g., sore flesh? Is it possible that my beloved olives are not vegan?
I Googled it.
The Vegetarian Resource Group has an excellent list of frequently-asked questions about food ingredients, which confirmed that foods made with lactic acid are indeed vegan:
If it’s lactate or lactic acid, it’s not from dairy (exception – sterol lactate due to the stearic acid). “Lac” ingredients are usually produced by a fermentation process using cornstarch or beet sugar. Lactose is always from dairy.
So, you can eat lactic acid guilt free. Unless it comes from someone’s muscles. Which is gross on so many levels.
This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 4th, 2011 at 11:07 PM and is filed under misc.. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.